Menu Close

‘Lovesick Girls’ MV teaser released by BLACKPINK

Jisoo concept teaser for "THE ALBUM". Jisoo and Jennie are listed in the writing credits of "Lovesick Girls". Image credit: YG Entertainment
Jisoo concept teaser for “THE ALBUM”. Jisoo and Jennie are listed in the writing credits of “Lovesick Girls”. Image credit: YG Entertainment

The “Lovesick Girls” MV teaser is here, and Twitter is going crazy over this sneak peek at the music video of the title track of BLACKPINK’s first full album in South Korea.

On Sept. 28, YG Entertainment confirmed “Lovesick Girls” as the title track of “THE ALBUM”. The “Lovesick Girls” teaser poster showed members Jisoo, Jennie, Rosé, and Lisa apparently posing as the two ships that the girl group’s fans — called BLINKS — are very familiar with: Chaesoo (Rosé and Jisoo) and Jenlisa (Jennie and Lisa). BLINKS were also overjoyed when yesterday’s tracklist poster revealed that Jisoo and Jennie were included in the writing credits of “Lovesick Girls“.

A different concept

“‘THE ALBUM’ is full of surprises,” Rosé said on the Zach Sang Show when he interviewed BLACKPINK and their “Ice Cream” collaborator Selena Gomez.

“The Lovesick Girls” MV teaser seems to further confirm this, as it unveiled a different concept from what fans are used to from BLACKPINK. Then again, “Ice Cream” itself was a big surprise, and was something different from what both BLACKPINK and Selena had previously done. Which, in fact, prompted Zach Sang’s question.

With yesterday’s release of the tracklist poster of “THE ALBUM”, YG Entertainment also officially confirmed the BLACKPINK collaboration with American rapper Cardi B.

“Bet You Wanna” is the BLACKPINK-Cardi B collab single. It also lists songwriter and OneRepublic lead vocalist Ryan Tedder in the writing credits.

The BLACKPINK-Cardi B collab is the fourth time the K-pop girl group is collaborating with a Western artist, after Dua Lipa (“Kiss and Make Up”), Lady Gaga (“Sour Candy), and Selena Gomez.

“THE ALBUM” has eight tracks, including “How You Like That” and “Ice Cream”, which were released ahead of the album launch. Apart from “Love Sick Girls” and “Bet You Wanna”, the six new songs on “THE ALBUM” include “Pretty Savage”, “Crazy Over You”, “Love To Hate Me”, and “You Never Know”.

“THE ALBUM” will be launched on digital platforms on Oct. 2 at 1 PM KST (12 NN PST), while the physical album will be released on Oct. 6.

Are you even more excited after watching the “Lovesick Girls” MV teaser?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *